Phishing e-mail directs to real site?

by Dakel | 11/08/2010 09:41:53

Dakel

Just recieved an e-mail in my inbox not junk folder telling me a request for a new password has been received, normally i ignore all this junk because i get plenty of phishing e-mails a week but this one came to my inbox so i just gave it a quick look over and all the links in the e-mail actually direct me to www.worldofwacraft.com spelt correctly with no odd characters or spelling errors that the usually fake e-mails send you to.

Wondering if it was genuine i sent my own request for a new password and it came with an @battle.net address rather than @blizzard.com.

But what i don't get is if someone is trying to get my info why send an e-mail that sends me to the real worldofwacraft.com site?

by Orlyia | 11/08/2010 11:09:03

Orlyia


Q u o t e:
The link may SAY that it goes to a real WoW site, but where does the hidden redirection take you? Mouse over the links and see if it really goes where it says.


Indeed, links can look legit - but go somewhere else entirely.

Customer Service Forum Representative

Authenticators! Take a bite (or two) out of crime!

http://us.battle.net/security/

Blizzard Announcement Recent Blizzard Announcements

 



Loaded in 0.04017 seconds